top of page

In the Beginning...

I have arrived in Liverpool! I have been here for two days now and I have been enjoying every minute.

My parents and boyfriend took me to the airport and waited with me until I was ready to go through security. It was difficult to say goodbye to them so I said a brief goodbye, gave a few hugs and quickly ran to security to stop the tears from falling. I have never been away from my family or boyfriend for more than a few weeks, so it has been hard imagining three months without them so close to me.

Sadly, I could only sleep for about an hour of my seven hour flight, so when I arrived in Manchester, I was very tired. I had to wait a good deal of time to get my bag and had a little bit of difficulty finding my ride from the University to get to Liverpool, however, I arrived in Liverpool without much trouble around 11am.

When I got to my room, I was very tired from the flight so I put made my bed and took a quick 20 minute nap, which gave me enough energy to empty my suitcase. Afterwards, I spent a little time communicating with people from home and began to feel a little homesick. I realized it had only been a few hours and immediately felt silly. After another nap and a good brush of the teeth, I ran into some other international students and made instant friends.

Overall? Day one was a success.

Day two? Even more of a success.

I ate a free breakfast provided by the "uni" (Short of university and used widely throughout Europe) and chatted with some international students before our first tour of the day. We toured around the town of Aigburth, where my residence campus is located, and later got to tour the city of Liverpool. After two walking tours, a lunch spent at a TOO Americanized restaurant (That was an accident, I promise), and a day full of getting to know new people, I was very tired. My day did not end there, though!

One of my flatmates (Flat = Apartment) and I went to McDonalds and got a little dinner. I can confirm that the chicken nuggets are WAY better here than where I am from in Pennsylvania. They were fried crispier and the chicken tasted real! Woo!

I also spent some of my evening going to a local bar with some friends and got to order my very first drink! What a day!

Well, right now it is 12:39am and I am very tired, so I am going to get another night of sleep and do many things tomorrow!

Cheers!


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page