top of page

Week Ten: Football and Ice Skating

Hello everyone! With week number ten in the books, I cannot help but think about the short time I have left here in Liverpool before going home. Over the past three months, the word "home" has come to mean two different things; home as in Pennsylvania, and home as in my accommodation in Liverpool. I wish I could return to Liverpool every year or so, but I know it wouldn't be the same without the wonderful friends I have made in my time here.

On Friday, I went ice skating for the very first time, and it was a lot of fun! The ice rink was part of a pop-up winter festival that Liverpool was hosting by Albert Dock. The festival had everything from carnival rides to mulled wine. My friends and I ate some food and then went straight to the rink. It was a really great evening, with no injuries, and for me, no falls!

Saturday marked my very first Premier League football game. My friend, Ellie and I were originally going to see a Liverpool match, but when we saw the price of tickets, we changed our minds and decided to see an Everton match instead. It was very interesting to see how it compared to professional American sports events, not that I have been to many, but Ellie has and she was giving me plenty of differences. For example, there weren't people selling food in the stands, and the entrances to the stadium were very small. It was a very interesting experience, even for someone who isn't a huge fan of sports, and I can happily say that Everton won! Okay, I was rooting for Huddersfield because their mascot is the Terrier (Yorkshire Terrier, as in the dog breed), but the Everton fans I was surrounded by didn't know that!

I also visited the Christmas market in town and was able to find smoked Mac' and Cheese (which is what I am holding in the one picture below), and it was not too bad! It was the best Mac' and Cheese I've had since I've been here. Also, you will find some pictures of Liverpool Hope University and the city center.

Only one more blog to write while I am here in Liverpool! Time flies by very fast.

Until then,

Cheers!


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page