top of page

Week Four: Beautiful, Rainy Wales

Hello, everyone!

This week, my friends and I were served an incredible meal by the university caterers at their annual Gala dinner for first year students, master's students, and international students. Everyone got dressed up and spent the evening chatting over wine and the delicious meal. It was a really nice time and reminded me of the Thanksgiving dinner that Susquehanna holds for its students every year. Although I will be missing it this year, this

Gala dinner made me feel a little less sad to be missing it.

My adventure this weekend was to Llandudno, Wales, which is a two hour train ride from my residence in Liverpool. My two friends and I spent all day Saturday and half of Sunday exploring and dodging the wind and rain. On Saturday we took a bus from Llandudno to Betws-y-Coed and walked a short 3 miles in the pouring rain before reaching Swallow Falls, which was worth the walk. After, we travelled back to Llandudno in search of something to do inside. We got dinner and watched the new Kingsmen movie in the local movie theater where we discovered they give you a choice of Sweet or Salty popcorn in Great Britain.

On Sunday, we toured Conwy Castle, a medieval castle built by Edward I between 1283 and 1289. For me, it was the highlight the entire trip and was definitely worth the £5. The best way I can describe this experience is through pictures, though they do not do the castle justice. Afterwards, we had some tea and walked around the town, where we discovered a bakery with beautiful sweets. Finally, we walked the entire wall built around the village of Conwy and travelled home.

What a week!

Cheers!


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page