top of page

Week Eight: Dublin and Drinking

In case you do not know, I am 20 years old. Twenty.

That means I am old enough to vote, drive, shoot a gun, get a tattoo, work in the military, buy a lottery ticket or cigarette in the United States, however, I cannot buy myself a glass of wine for dinner. Every single European I have ran into has thought this concept was absurd, and I agree.

Now, I understand this is a controversial topic, and I am not writing this blog post to push my opinion upon anyone, but here in England, I am legally allowed to have a drink...and I have.

Now, onto Dublin. :)

Saturday morning, six of my friends and I hopped on a 30 minute, morning flight to Dublin. Luckily, I got a window seat and was able to enjoy the beautiful landscape...or should I say, skyscape! (See pictures below.) After landing in Dublin, we split up and my group went to Howth, Ireland, which was a quick 40 minute train ride from the city center. Howth was a cute little village on a peninsula off of coast of Ireland; right by the Irish sea, which surprisingly looked like a brilliant turquoise. We walked around the village for a bit, got some lunch and then walked around the mountain, which is situated right along the coast. After returning to the city center later in the day, we met back up with our friends and watched the Ireland vs. Fiji rugby match in a pub. It was really great to see the excitement in the pub when Ireland won.

On Sunday, we visited the famous Guinness Storehouse Tour, which was fantastic. From getting to pour our own pints of Guinness, to seeing all of their fun and wacky ways to advertise their product, we had a wonderful time. Then we walked to Dublin Castle and explored the surrounding area, ate at a fantastic Irish restaurant, and did some souvenir shopping in the Stephen's Green Shopping Centre. Finally, I got to end my great weekend in Dublin by getting to see one of my friends from Susquehanna who is also studying abroad this semester.

Overall, I had a great weekend in Ireland!

Cheers!

Michaela


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page