top of page

Week Eleven: Germany and Assessments

Hello everyone! With only one more week until I return home, I find myself working on a few assessments. Here in England, they do not take quizzes each week, or have homework to assess their knowledge at the University level. Instead, students go to lectures and seminars each week to prepare for the final assessments that must be due throughout the year and at the end of the year. I have had to work on two essays, arrange a piece for a six part A cappella group, and write and record a song. Thankfully, I only have one more essay to write and then I am done with my education here in Liverpool!

This weekend, my friend Ellie and I travelled to Düsseldorf, Germany. We flew in from Manchester on Friday evening, and stayed at an Airbnb (which I enjoy MUCH more than hostels). On Saturday, we travelled to Bonn and visited the Beethoven House, which was incredible considering you are able to see some of his original manuscripts. Afterwards, we visited a Christmas Market where we found Bratwurst and mulled wine. After visiting Bonn, we took a train to Königswinter, where we toured the Schloß Drachenburg castle and visited another Christmas market. Here we were able to try a Chimney cake, which was AMAZING. Later in the evening we took the train back to Düsseldorf and enjoyed the Christmas Markets there. We found everything from candles and jewelry, to Chestnuts and pretzels.

On Sunday, we took a train to Köln (Cologne) and visited the magnificent Cologne Cathedral. It was absolutely beautiful; from its Gothic style, to its numerous stained-glass windows. It also painted a backdrop for another Christmas Market, which was my favorite market out of the numerous markets we visited. This market had a large tree and stage at the center where a jazz band was playing Christmas Music. At this point in the day, there was practically a blizzard blowing through Köln so Ellie and I grabbed a few warm drinks and watched the band for a while. It was a magical experience; from the snow, and the music, to the Christmas lights and drinks, I loved it all. However, we quickly became extremely cold and wet so we decided to head back to the airport early. This was a miracle in disguise when our train stopped for about 45 minutes due to a track issue.

Overall, it was a pretty great weekend in Western Germany. :) I'm sad to say that was my last weekend excursion through Europe, but happy to say I will soon be home!

Cheers!

Michaela


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page