top of page

Week Six: Amsterdam

Hallo! With another week complete, I cannot help but notice how fast time is moving here in Liverpool. Friday marked six weeks spent away and Saturday marked six weeks until I return home. It definitely does not feel that way!

This week was not too exciting. I did a little shopping in the city center, celebrated Halloween by eating cupcakes with my two close gal pals, and learned about British religion in my British Life class.

Although my week was not very exciting, my weekend was quite the opposite! Three of my friends and I visited Amsterdam, which is a city located in The Netherlands. We left after class on Friday for Liverpool John Lennon Airport and arrived in Amsterdam later that evening.

On Saturday, we took a train into the city and went straight to the A'DAM Lookout to conquer the "highest swing in Europe." After climbing several stories in a mystical elevator with a light show, we reached the observation deck, which had its own bar and miniature statue of the building itself. After basking in the views, my friend, Ellie and I climbed up to the sky deck, where we braved the cold and conquered the swing. It was an amazing experience that I will brag about forever!

The rest of Saturday went by quick. We got Stroopwafels at the Floating Flower Market, visited Dam Square and the Red Light District, and tried Poffertjes, which are delicious little pancakes with syrup and powdered sugar.

On Sunday, we visited the area around the Rijksmuseum, ate brunch at a café and then took a tour at the House of Bols, the cocktail and Genever experience. The tour was really great, complete with getting to make your own cocktail at the end of the experience. Afterwards, I got a traditional Dutch food called "bitterballen," which is deep fried meat that you can eat with mustard.

In my opinion, the best part of going to Amsterdam was getting to see the beautiful tree lined canals and colorful houses. It was definitely worth almost getting run over by bikes half the time!

Cheers!

Michaela


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page