top of page

Week Five: Living in Liverpool

To begin my blog this week, I would like to give a happy birthday shout out to my two loving parents. Yes, believe it or not, they were both born on October 30th, just two years apart.

As you can see from the pictures below, my two American friends, Ellie and Kelly, and I got pumpkins to carve to get in the Halloween spirit. :)

The past weekend I stayed in Liverpool and enjoyed sleeping in late. :) On Friday evening, I got to hear some Irish music at a local Irish centre nearby. It was a joy to see nearly 20 musicians playing together for a change. Their energy was inviting and very infective. On Saturday, it was very windy and a bit rainy, which ruined my friend's and my plans to go to an amusement park nearby.

After spending five weeks in another country, I am sure you are wondering whether I am homesick or not. My answer to that has been, for the past five weeks, "No." While my answer still stands strong, I am sad to have missed a couple events at home. For example, my parents birthdays today, or the inauguration of my university's new President, who is very much a man of music. Sometimes, I pass a cute dog(s) on the street and miss my little Yorkshire Terrier, Bella.

So far, I have been having the time of my life abroad. I have already seen so many things I never thought I would and I have met so many incredible people. in my opinion, with 7 weeks to go, I think I will miss the friends I have made and the easy schedule the most.

In case I forgot to mention, my schedule here is incredibly easy compared to my normal university schedule. Normally, I have upwards of 15 hours of class, two to three hours of lessons, 8 hours of rehearsals, and numerous hours of homework and individual practicing each semester. Here, I have 8 hours of class, a one hour voice lesson, and numerous hours of individual practicing, spending time with friends, traveling, and Netflix.

Going back to Susquehanna will definitely be an interesting treat...

.but until then...

Cheers! <3


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page